Montreal International Documentary Festival

fr
Box Office F.A.Q

Search films, news, screening numbers and events by keywords

23 November 2020 Festival

Record number of passes sold for the 23rd edition, which continues with REDEFINING INTIMACY and SURVIVING VIOLENCE

Midway through its 23rd edition, the Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM) is proud to announce that it has already exceeded its box office target for this virtual edition with the sale of a record number of passes to viewers everywhere in Quebec. The results confirm the enthusiasm of festivalgoers for reality-based cinema and this year’s original program. For those who would like to enjoy the festival’s remaining 69 films between now and December 2, the festival is now offering the pass for $50.

 

The RIDM pass provides access to the three sections that are currently available (until November 25): Contemplating Dystopia, Becoming Oneself and Challenging Power (presented in collaboration with the CSN), as well as the year’s final two sections, starting Thursday, November 26: Redefining Intimacy (presented in collaboration with Cinemania) and Surviving Violence. Single-section subscriptions are still available for $15.

 

REDEFINING INTIMACY available November 26 to December 2

These 13 films explore issues around private life, family relationships, romantic relationships and elder and end-of-life care. These very personal stories question the individual’s relationship with their society and era.

 

In this section, the Quebec-made films CHSLD by François Delisle and CHSLD, Mon Amour by Danic Champoux take a look at our society’s approach to elder and end-of-life care, while Life of a Dog by Danae Elon and Rosana Matecki introduces us to two mothers and their sons as they go about their lives during the disruptive lockdowns of 2020. Another Quebec-made film touches on a different sphere: Goodnight Goodnight by Mackenzie Reid Rostad draws our attention to cosmic movements and natural phenomena governing the Earth, through the prism of grief for a loved one.

 

The section also includes a pair of documentary masters: Claire Simon with Le Fils de l'épicière, le Maire, le Village et le Monde (France), which documents the creation of the online documentary platform Tënk, and Kazuhiro Soda with Zero (United States, Japan), a filmmaker showcased by the RIDM with a retrospective in 2018. The first films in this section are Teeth by Jennifer Martin (United Kingdom), a dystopian short with Lynchian overtones, and The Metamorphosis of Birds by Catarina Vasconcelos (Portugal), which, in fiction-documentary hybrid form, tells the story of Beatriz, a grandmother who died before the filmmaker was born, as well as her mother’s mourning.

 

Three more films in the section touch on loss and mourning: Thanadoula by Robin McKenna (Canada), a gentle meditation on life and death, separation and intimacy; Sayōnara by William Andreas Wivel (Denmark), which explores the filmmaker’s experiences around his mother’s death, and Mon Amour by David Teboul (France), who, while suffering inconsolable grief, and haunted by profound sadness and guilt, decides to drop everything and go to Siberia.

 

Rounding out the section are Southern Sorceresses by Beto Amaral, Carla Caffé and Eliane Caffé (Brazil) takes us to the heart of São Paulo, where a group of LGBTQ+ activists and artists document, with spirit and good humour, their occupation of public space, and Tandis que je respire encore by Laure Giappiconi, Elisa Monteil and La Fille Renne (France), who explain the multiple facets of femininity.

 

SURVIVING VIOLENCE available November 26 to December 2

12 highly topical films that testify powerfully to different forms of contemporary violence: the exploitation of Indigenous peoples, the tragic fate of migrants, countries at war, political repression and persistent violence against women.

 

Four films in this section explore topics related to refugees and migration: 3 Logical Exits by Mahdi Fleifel (Denmark, United Kingdom, Lebanon), which takes us to Ain al-Helweh, the largest Palestinian refugee camp in Lebanon; Errance sans retour by Mélanie Carrier and Olivier Higgins (Quebec), taking us inside the Kutupalong refugee camp in Bangladesh; La Maison Bleue by Hamedine Kane (Belgium, Cameroon, Senegal), a portrait of a migrant artist living in the Calais Jungle who powerfully defies clichés; and Purple Sea by Khaled Abdulwahed and Amel Alzakout (Germany), a poetic, anxiety-inducing look at a group of shipwrecked migrants in the Mediterranean.

 

The section also includes some more intimate works in the form of Ankebût by Ceylan Özgün Özçelik (Turkey), an immersion in the thoughts of a woman who is a victim of conjugal violence; Night Shot by Carolina Moscoso (Chile), an award winner at several festivals that explores the psychological repercussions of the rape the filmmaker endured eight years earlier; and The Earth Is Blue as an Orange by Iryna Tsilyk (Ukraine, Lithuania), a poignant chronicle of childhood and resilience in wartime, reminding us of the vital role art can play in our lives.

 

Three films in the section make powerful political statements: Aswang by Alyx Ayn Arumpac (Philippines, Denmark, France, Germany) shines a light on the ultra-repressive drug policies of the Duterte government in the Philippines; Extractions by Thirza Cuthand (Canada) is an acerbic, uncompromising vision of relations between Indigenous and settler peoples; and Sous un même soleil by François Jacob (Quebec) transports us to the heart of the territorial conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh, which continues to tear apart Armenia and Azerbaijan.

 

Completing this section are La mort blanche du sorcier noir by Rodrigo Ribeiro (Brazil), an immersive sensory essay that gives voice to the slaves of the past while crying out for the freedom of those of the present day, and Unarchive by Cecilia Araneda (Canada), which juxtaposes her father’s journey in escaping Chile to settle in Canada and the historic events that shaped his home country.

 

INTERSECTIONS

The festival is always eager to start discussions around creativity and documentary issues, and to that end hosts numerous online discussions in multiple formats (video, audio, written).

 

On Monday, November 23 at 7 p.m., theatre and film artists will share their experiences during a ROUND TABLE: Film and Theatre – production during a pandemic, presented in collaboration with Espace libre, Wapikoni Mobile and Cinéma Moderne.

 

On Monday, November 30 at 7 p.m., panellists will check in on the industry with a ROUND TABLE: New reality-based narratives – a checkup, presented in collaboration with INIS and the Labdoc, and moderated by Matthieu Dugal. In the age of COVID, how are “new narratives” faring? What are the long-term prospects and potential impacts of new documentary forms in the wider digital media ecosystem?

 

On Thursday, November 26 at 7 p.m.,the festival presents DIALOGUE: Errance sans retour / Sous un même soleil in which filmmakers Mélanie Carrier, Olivier Higgins and François Jacob will discuss issues of representation in documentary, geopolitical conflict and the survival of displaced peoples.

 

The DIALOGUE: CHSLD, Mon Amour will take place on Friday, November 27 at 7 p.m. for a discussion with filmmaker Danic Champoux on his recent film shot in the heart of a residential and long-term care center in the Centre-Sud neighbourhood of Montreal, right before the health crisis due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

Lastly, on Saturday, November 28 at 3 p.m., filmmakers Amel Alzakout and Khaled Abdelwahed will participate in DIALOGUE: Purple Sea in which they will discuss the exceptionally difficult filming conditions and the sinking of Alzakout’s boat on the way to Lesbos, where he sought asylum, and the long collective editing process for the film’s powerful images.

 

To give audiences even more context for the films, podcasts and interviews with filmmakers are also available on the festival’s website.

 

A VIRTUAL FAREWELL IN TWO PARTS

Every year, RIDM hosts free dance parties that are open to the entire city. Despite everything, 2020 hasn’t broken our will to host a MTL Reunion Party. Through an experimental simulation, the festival invites the audience and artists to a reinvented closing party on Saturday, November 28 starting at 9 p.m. DJ sets (Gene Tellem, TiKA, GLOWZI), our famous karaoke hosted by Mubeenah Mughal, and multiple hangout rooms in which to relax with old and new friends will be available for free thanks to the most cutting-edge online technology (Zoom!). To register for the event:bit.ly/3l10js4

 

On Tuesday, December 1, at 7 p.m. the festival will name the award winners for the 23rd edition at a virtual ceremony to be livestreamed on the festival’s Facebook page. Awards for the international, Canadian and New Visions competitions will all be announced, along with the Magnus Isacsson Award and the coveted Audience Award. Festivalgoers are invited to vote for their favourite film from within the festival’s online viewing platform.

 

PASSES AND SECTION SUBSCRIPTIONS

The RIDM box office is exclusively online, via the festival’s website. To keep access to the entire program simple and affordable, there are only two purchasing options: the RIDM Pass (now available for a special price: $50 +tax) good for all festival programming or a Section Subscription ($15 +tax) good for all films in one of the 8 sections. The films in each section will be available during the festival weeks indicated above.

 

The 23rd annual RIDM runs until December 2, 2020.

2020 TRAILER

Information:ridm.ca | info@ridm.ca

Facebook -Twitter -Instagram

 

- 30 -

 

 

PDF 

 

 

To request interviews, Vimeo links or press material, please contact:

Caroline Rompré | pixelleX communications | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca

 

 

Newsletter

Discover the best in documentary, take part in our year-round activities, and make the most of your festival!

Newsletter subscription

Discover the best in documentary, take part in our year-round activities, and make the most of your festival!

Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal

en
Billetterie F.A.Q

Chercher par film, nouvelle, numéro de séance, activité ou mots-clés

23 Novembre 2020 Festival

Un nombre record de passeports vendus pour une 23e édition qui se poursuit avec REPENSER L’INTIMITÉ et SURVIVRE À LA VIOLENCE

À mi-parcours de cette 23e édition, les Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal (RIDM) sont fières d’annoncer qu’elles dépassent déjà les objectifs de billetterie de leur formule virtuelle avec un nombre record de passeports vendus partout au Québec. Ce succès confirme l’engouement des festivalier.ère.s pour le cinéma du réel et la programmation originale de cette année. Afin de pouvoir faire profiter à ceux et celles qui désirent bénéficier d’un accès à un choix de 69 films d’ici le 2 décembre, le festival offre dès maintenant le passeport à 50$.

 

Le passeport RIDM donne accès aux trois sections présentement disponibles, et jusqu’au 25 novembre, soit Réfléchir la dystopie, Devenir soi-même et Contester le pouvoir (présentée en collaboration avec la CSN), ainsi qu’aux deux nouvelles sections qui seront lancées ce jeudi 26 novembre : Repenser l’intimité (présentée en collaboration avec Cinemania) et Survivre à la violence. À noter que l’abonnement à une section thématique au coût de 15$ est toujours offert.

 

REPENSER L’INTIMITÉ - disponible du 26 novembre au 2 décembre

13 films qui proposent un cinéma intimiste, sensible aux rapports familiaux, aux relations amoureuses et à l’état des soins de santé. Des parcours très personnels qui questionnent le rapport de l’individu à sa société et à son époque.

 

Dans cette section, les films québécois CHSLD de François Delisle et CHSLD, Mon Amour de Danic Champoux posent un regard sur le rapport de nos sociétés aux aîné.e.s et à la fin de vie, alors que Life of a Dog de Danae Elon et Rosana Matecki présente deux mères et leurs fils respectifs qui tracent leur quotidien dans le grand chamboulement du confinement de 2020. Toujours du côté du Québec, mais dans une autre sphère, Goodnight Goodnight de Mackenzie Reid Rostad attire notre attention sur les mouvements cosmiques et les phénomènes naturels qui régissent la Terre… à travers le récit d’un deuil amoureux.

 

Dans les grands noms du documentaire, nous retrouvons Claire Simon et Le Fils de l'épicière, le Maire, le Village et le Monde (France) qui filme la naissance de Tënk, ainsi que Zero de Kazuhiro Soda (États-Unis, Japon), cinéaste dont les RIDM avaient souligné l’oeuvre lors d’une rétrospective en 2018. Du côté des premières oeuvres, soulignons les films Teeth de Jennifer Martin (Royaume-Uni) court métrage dystopique proche de David Lynch et The Metamorphosis of Birds de Catarina Vasconcelos (Portugal) qui retrace, entre fiction et documentaire, la vie de Beatriz, sa grand-mère morte avant sa naissance, ainsi que le deuil de sa propre mère.

 

Trois films de cette section abordent aussi le deuil : Thanadoula de Robin McKenna (Canada), une douce méditation sur la vie et la mort, la séparation et l’intimité; Sayōnara de William Andreas Wivel (Danemark) qui évoque sa propre expérience du décès de sa mère et Mon Amour de David Teboul (France) qui vit un deuil inconsolable et qui, hanté par le chagrin et rongé par un sentiment de culpabilité, décide de partir pour la Sibérie.

 

Southern Sorceresses de Beto Amaral, Carla Caffé et Eliane Caffé (Brésil) qui nous amène au coeur de São Paulo où un groupe d’activistes et d’artistes LGBTQ+ documente avec verve et humour sa prise de possession de l’espace public, et Tandis que je respire encore de Laure Giappiconi, Elisa Monteil et La Fille Renne (France) qui expliquent la féminité sous de multiples facettes, viennent compléter cette section.

 

SURVIVRE À LA VIOLENCE - disponible du 26 novembre au 2 décembre

12 films profondément engagés qui témoignent avec puissance des multiples violences contemporaines : de l’exploitation des Autochtones au destin tragique des migrant.e.s, en passant par les États en guerre, la répression politique et la violence persistante faite aux femmes.

 

Quatre films de cette section abordent les thèmes des réfugié.e.s et de la migration : 3 Logical Exits de Mahdi Fleifel (Danemark, Royaume-Uni, Liban) qui nous porte à Ain al-Helweh, le plus grand camp de réfugié.e.s palestinien.ne.s au Liban; Errance sans retour de Mélanie Carrier et Olivier Higgins (Québec) qui eux, nous amènent au cœur du camp de réfugié.e.s de Kutupalong au Bangladesh; La Maison Bleue de Hamedine Kane (Belgique, Cameroun, Sénégal), portrait d’un artiste migrant dans la Jungle de Calais qui  déjoue puissamment les clichés et Purple Sea de Khaled Abdulwahed et Amel Alzakout (Allemagne), plongée anxiogène et poétique au coeur du nauvrage d’un groupe de migrant.e.s dans la Méditerranée.

 

Plus intimes, on retrouve dans cette section les films Ankebût de Ceylan Özgün Özçelik (Turquie) qui nous plonge dans les pensées d’une femme victime de violence conjugale; Night Shot de Carolina Moscoso (Chili), déjà primé dans plusieurs festivals, qui explore les répercussions psychologiques du viol que la cinéaste a subi huit ans plus tôt, et The Earth Is Blue as an Orange de Iryna Tsilyk (Ukraine, Lituanie) une chronique poignante sur l’enfance et la résilience en temps de guerre, qui rappelle le rôle vital que peut parfois jouer l’art.

 

Résolument politiques, les films Aswang de Alyx Ayn Arumpac (Philippines, Danemark, France, Allemagne) sur les politiques antidrogue ultra-répressives du gouvernement Duterte, Extractions de Thirza Cuthand (Canada) qui transmet une vision acerbe et sans compromis des rapports entre autochtones et settlers et Sous un même soleil de François Jacob (Québec) qui nous transporte au coeur du conflit territorial autour du Haut-Karabakh qui continue de déchirer l’Arménie et l’Azerbaïdjan, sont présentés dans cette section.

 

La mort blanche du sorcier noir de Rodrigo Ribeiro (Brésil), un essai sensoriel et immersif qui donne une voix aux esclaves du passé tout en appelant celles du présent, et Unarchive de Cecilia Araneda (Canada) qui entrecroise le parcours de son père, qui a fui le Chili pour le Canada, et les événements mouvementés qui ont marqué son pays d’origine, viennent compléter cette sélection.

 

INTERSECTIONS

Toujours soucieux de stimuler les échanges autour de la création et des enjeux reliés au documentaire, le festival continue de proposer de nombreuses discussions en ligne, sous de multiples formats (vidéo, audio, écrit).

 

Le lundi 23 novembre à 19h, des artistes du théâtre et du cinéma partageront leurs expériences lors d’une TABLE RONDE : Cinéma et théâtre - la création en temps de pandémie, présentée en collaboration avec Espace libre, Wapikoni Mobile et le Cinéma Moderne.

 

Le lundi 30 novembre à 19h, ce sera l’heure du bilan avec la TABLE RONDE : Nouvelles écritures du réel - bilan de santé, présentée en collaboration avec L’Inis et le Labdoc, et animée par Matthieu Dugal. Comment, en cette ère de COVID, se portent ces « nouvelles écritures » du réel? Qu’en est-il de la fragile pérennité et de l’impact possible des nouvelles écritures documentaires dans l’écosystème des médias numériques?

 

Le jeudi 26 novembre à 19h aura lieu le DIALOGUE : Errance sans retour / Sous un même soleil où les cinéastes Mélanie Carrier, Olivier Higgins et François Jacob échangeront autour des enjeux de représentation en documentaire, de conflits géopolitiques et de survivance de populations déplacées.

 

Le DIALOGUE : CHSLD, Mon Amour aura lieu le vendredi 27 novembre à 19h pour une discussion avec le cinéaste Danic Champoux sur son plus récent film tourné au coeur d’un centre d’hébergement et de soins de longue durée du Centre-Sud de Montréal, juste avant la crise sanitaire due à la pandémie de COVID-19.

 

Et finalement, le samedi 28 novembre à 15 h, les cinéastes Amel Alzakout et Khaled Abdelwahed participeront au DIALOGUE : Purple Sea et dévoileront les circonstances éprouvantes du tournage, le naufrage du bateau d'Alzakout en route vers l'île de Lesbos pour demander l'asile et le long processus de montage collectif de ces images percutantes.

 

Pour enrichir l’expérience des cinéphiles, des balados et des entretiens avec les cinéastes sont également à découvrir sur le site web du festival.

 

UNE CLÔTURE VIRTUELLE EN DEUX TEMPS

Chaque année, les RIDM deviennent le haut lieu de soirées dansantes, gratuites et ouvertes à toute la ville. Et ce n’est pas 2020 qui allait briser ces traditionnelles retrouvailles festives. À l’image de son édition virtuelle originale, le festival invite donc le public et les artistes à une soirée de clôture réinventée le samedi 28 novembre à partir de 21h. Des sets de DJs (Gene Tellem, TiKA, GLOWZI), notre célèbre karaoké animé par Mubeenah Mughal, des salles de discussions et des espaces de relaxation seront accessibles gratuitement grâce à la fine pointe de la technologie (Zoom!). L’inscription se fait ici : bit.ly/3340QTB

 

Enfin, le mardi 1er décembre à 19h aura lieu la remise de prix de cette 23e édition lors d’une cérémonie virtuelle diffusée sur la page Facebook du festival où seront dévoilé.e.s les lauréat.e.s des compétitions internationales, nationales, Nouveaux Regards, en plus du Prix Magnus-Isacsson et du convoité Prix du public 2020. Les festivalier.ère.s sont d’ailleurs invité.e.s à voter pour le film de leur choix directement sur la plateforme en ligne du festival.

 

PASSEPORTS ET ABONNEMENTS

La billetterie des RIDM est uniquement en ligne, accessible via le site web du festival. Afin de permettre un accès abordable et simple à cette édition virtuelle, deux options d’achat sont possibles : le passeport RIDM (maintenant au prix spécial de 50$ +tx) donnant accès à tous les films disponibles ou l’abonnement à une section thématique (15$ +tx) donnant accès aux films d’une section. Tous les films d’une sélection sont accessibles pendant la durée des semaines de diffusion prévues.

 

La 23e édition des RIDM se déroule jusqu’au 2 décembre 2020.

BANDE-ANNONCE 2020

 

Informations :ridm.ca |info@ridm.ca

Facebook -Twitter -Instagram

 

- 30 -

 

 

PDF

 

 

Pour toutes demandes d’entrevues, liens Vimeo ou matériel de presse, veuillez contacter :

Caroline Rompré | pixelleX communications | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca

 

Infolettre

Découvrez le meilleur du documentaire, prenez part à nos activités à l’année, et ne manquez rien du festival!

Abonnement à l'infolettre

Découvrez le meilleur du documentaire, prenez part à nos activités à l’année, et ne manquez rien du festival!